Favorite Teen Book? Vote!

Well I didn’t think I was going to write more than a few lines here tonight since I’m a little under the weather and in dire need of sleep but… I started writing and couldn’t stop. You lucky people!

In putting yesterday’s writing into Scrivener tonight, I added another 146 words which makes me happy given that I didn’t think I was going to write anything today. And remember: every little bit really does add up. Which means my MS (manuscript) is currently at 42,000 words. It’s not all I’ve written – about half that amount has fallen to the axe – saved, but not forgotten in another Scrivener file. (I ♥ Scrivener. I really do.)

So I saw an article posted twice today and I think it’s worth sharing with you: NPR is holding a survey for the best-ever teen/YA/young adult novels. Vote away! I was interested to see that most of my favorites were a bit old. That’s partly because I haven’t read a lot of the new ones yet, and partly, I suspect, because nostalgia played as much into my choices as anything else. It made me think I need to revisit some of those to see why they’ve stuck with me for so long (like Madeleine L’Engle’s A Ring of Endless Light). Others, like Robin McKinley’s The Hero and the Crown, I revisit periodically, and it’s no mystery why they’re still favorites of mine: they tell a story and they tell it so it sucks me in no matter how many times I read it. The characters, while teens and young adults, are in a way ageless to me, so they still speak to me in a way other more-obvious teen characters can’t after a couple of readings.

On the note of favorite books, I have to thank Kasia James of Writer’s Block for nominating me for the Booker Award. Now I get to pick my 5 all-time favorite books… This could take awhile. I’ll get back to you… (PS Check out her favorites; I haven’t read any of them but I’ll definitely be adding them to my Goodreads to-read list!) The other part will be fun too: picking the 5 to 10 blogs I’d like to nominate for this award. Already thinking about it…

You know, I often think of how I became a book addict: one day when I was young – 7 or 8 maybe – I fell right into a book; just fell right out of my school library and into the rolling green hills of the book… So.

May my book one day suck you in. One day. In the nicest possible way.

Until then: Good night!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Favorite Teen Book? Vote!

  1. That was an excellent post today. Thanks so much for sharing it. I
    really enjoyed reading it very much. You have a wonderful day!

    Enjoy writing? Join Us Today

  2. deb says:

    i am totally looking forward to falling into your book one day. Hope you feel better soon and thanks for the links to check out. Congrats on the nom!

  3. reneevinage says:

    Favorite Teen/YA novel? Wow, that’s hard. I have so many. Yet, if I think back to when I was a teen, and what book was different from the middle grade books I loved, it would have to be The Outsiders, by S.E. Hinton. Her characters really pulled me in as a teen and made me think. It was sort of a ‘coming’ of age so-to-speak in my book reading. That book stuck with me far more than others I had to read for my LA classes in high school. Lord of the Flies was just gross, and all the other classics we had to read in the 70s were those timeless icons of literature like Animal Farm. While I liked some, and slogged my way through others, it was The Outsiders that was a turning point for me.

  4. thewritingblues says:

    @EWJ: Thank you for reading!

    @deb: Thanks, deb – I’m okay – just a reaction to my allergy shots *sigh* – which wears me out. I’m okay though :) Ditto by the way – I can’t wait to fall into one of your books!

    @reneevinage: Hmm I haven’t read The Outsiders yet – might have to add that to my Goodreads to-read list too! Thanks for reading :)

  5. Pingback: Vote for Leverage!!! | joshuacohenbooks

Leave a Reply

