Inspired by writers and athletes

I haven’t really been needing inspiration lately, not since I had my recent plot breakthrough. What I’ve really needed is superglue to keep my butt in the chair, but it’s summer and there’s so much fun stuff to do and… Well let’s not go there.

Point is, I wasn’t looking for inspiration when I heard that 9 YA (Young Adult/teen) authors were speaking at a local bookstore tonight, but yeah, as you probably guessed, I found it. Well I found inspiration to get my butt in the chair and write more than 100+ words anyway. Tomorrow. Tonight I’m watching the Opening Ceremonies of the Olympics as much as I can before I pass out.

Which, speaking of inspiration, has become another source: I can never compete in the Olympics – not even close – but I can imagine the work they put into getting there and competing and let myself be inspired to GET MY BUTT IN THE CHAIR and put in the same effort. Well and to get my butt back in the pool and put in even a fraction of that effort…

Now that I’m inspired to work my butt off for even an hour or two and my character has been talking to me today, tomorrow morning I’ll be putting that to work…. I’ll report my progress after.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Inspired by writers and athletes

  1. Just wanted to let you know that I have awarded you the double award of “One Lovely Blog” and “Inspired Blog” over on my blog – http://www.cherylfassett.wordpress.com! Thanks for inspiring me to put my butt in the chair daily!

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Thank you so much, Cheryl! I’m highly honored. :) And I’m very glad my writing rantings help. I just checked out your blog and it’s lovely: will be checking back in. :D

Leave a Reply

