Advice from writers and a commitment

I suppose it’ll come as no surprise to anyone that I’m not perfect. I’m working on it but not there yet… So, on my quest for writerly perfection I love to read what other writers have to say about what works for them, what doesn’t, and what I should be doing. Someone on Twitter posted this great tumblr post a couple of days ago with writing advice from some pretty well-known authors. Heard of Margaret Atwood? Neil Gaiman? How about PD James? They all have advice for writers that should not be ignored. The original article is called Ruled Out and is well-worth reading.

So I did get some writing in, although not as much as I would like and now that my friends are here, it’s time to close up shop. But I did get 245 words written which is a better day than I’ve had in awhile.

After watching last night’s Opening Ceremonies, and watching some of the actual Olympic games today, I’ve decided to make a commitment: for the rest of the Olympics, I will write every single day, at least 100 words. That’s do-able. More than do-able. So hold me to it.

I hope you’ll write with me.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Advice from writers and a commitment

  1. Caitlin Dundon says:

    You should be writing every day, so that it becomes effortless. I heard once that there was an experiment done with pottery students – they asked one group to produce one beautiful, exquisite piece of art. A second group of students was asked to produce 100 pieces – quality didn’t matter. The result: The second group of students that didn’t have the pressure to produce a beautiful thing produces many beautiful things and the students who only did one thing they were trying so hard to make that one exquisite thing made mediocre art. The lesson: if you do something creative everyday the chances of hitting on something exquisite is greater.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Fascinating experiment! And I agree in principle: certainly the more often I write, the more naturally it flows. Unfortunately, I just can’t do it daily, either because I’m brain-dead from work or because I have too much going on. And what I found is that sometimes feeling the pressure to write daily hurt my writing more than NOT writing daily did. But yes, I try to do SOMETHING creative every day, even if it’s sketching or writing this blog, and not writing my novel. Who knows? This challenge I’ve set myself could change that. Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m on the ferry writing my novel. On an envelope. Left my notebook at home – yeesh! Thanks for reading, Caitlin!

  3. Pingback: Near-record writing day « the writing blues

Leave a Reply

