They are not you

Well my challenge is in full swing: I wrote 341 words today while on the ferry – coming and going. Although I had a bit of a panic at first when I realized I’d left my notebook at home when I was changing bags, I found an envelope in my bag that I didn’t need so, voila! Writing space. (It was that or the handful of napkins I’d snagged with my coffee.)

So I have another post for you to check out called Honing Your Craft by Tabitha Olson. In it, she has many of her previous writing tip posts packaged as pdfs to download, but what really caught my eye is farther down the page under “A Few Basic Writing Tips.”

The first bullet is, “The best way to improve your writing is to re-evaluate what you think you know.” Another is, “Get inside your characters’ heads. Don’t make them do what you would do. Figure out what THEY would do.”

Together, those two bullets reflect what I’m realizing I need to start doing: making sure my character is acting under her own steam and making sure I have the dynamics right among her group of friends. Her group of friends is different from any of the friendships I have now, so if they’re going to play any major part in my MC (main character)’s story – which they will – then I need to get them right. Not only how they act, but how they act with each other, individually and as a group. And I need to get my MC right – she needs to make her own choices and have her own types of interactions with her friends, not the ones I’d make or have.

I ended today’s writing with my MC running to her friends for distraction. When I start writing the next scene tomorrow, I want it to be rich in the dynamics that will distract her. Wish me luck!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

