Writing as a focus

Do you ever feel that your writing drains the creativity out of you? In a good way, I mean. Like I can be a very creative cook but when my writing is my focus, I tend to forget to cook. And to eat too, but that’s not unusual…

My writing’s my focus this week which means my Olympic challenge is in full swing. I’ve decided that even if I can only get 18 (or 7) words out in a day, it adds up and it means that my 768-word-writing day (today) seems even more awesome.

Still. I’d like to be able to cook again…

Oh and here’s a post to check out: Kristin Cashore’s blog is always fun to follow but then sometimes she writes a long writing-related post that’s really worth reading. Today’s post is “Writing Tools (Bright and Dark)“. I think my favorite sentence is this one: “It’s about giving yourself permission to feel how you feel; dealing with horrible, scary feelings by leaning into them instead of trying to push them away.” She’s talking about a book but she’s right: you need to embrace your scary feelings… If only to use them in your writing. (There are more profound reasons I’m sure but that’s a good one…)

That’s all for tonight. Keep writing, folks! Remember: it adds up….

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing as a focus

  1. katkasia says:

    The link here is great – and her link on to that article about Negativity is very interesting too. I’d heard about the concept of too much positive thinking possibly being damaging, but there was more detail on the ‘whys’ in there.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    You have? I’d never heard about it being damaging but I can see that. Really I think it’s like everything else: it’s all about balance, right?
    I still have to read the article she linked to – will steal a break today and do that. :)

Leave a Reply

