Write the crap

Let’s just get this out of the way: I wrote a bad thing today. I wrote a phrase that even while it’s making me simultaneously laugh and start singing a song I can’t remember (because the lyrics are very similar), it’s also making me cringe. Actually even before I wrote it, it made me cringe.

I wrote it anyway.

1st draft, people: write all the crap anyway!

2nd draft  (and 3rd, and 4th, and….): revise all the crap out!

If in your initial writing, you censor yourself even one awful sentence, you could be censoring other great ones at the same time, so don’t do it.

……..

Oh. You want to know what the sentence was. Okay fine but you asked for it:

“[He] let his light shine down into the darkness.” And the corresponding song lyrics running through my head are: “…gotta let your light shine down…” Any takers to guess who that is? (I should admit, I cut out a few words of that sentence for you to avoid spoilers but you got the important part.)

Anyway, eek. How… Hmmm… actually, re-reading it, it might end up staying. Or not. We’ll see. But do you see? What you think is crap now might actually be a gem down the road, so hang onto it until you have fresh eyes to look at it. Or it might still be crap and you can comfort yourself in knowing it’ll be good entertainment value for you when it’s time to reread it and you can happily slice it out.

So here’s my writing rule: Write the crap. You can quote me on that. (Bet you didn’t see that one coming…)

I got out 181 words tonight and learned more about one of my side characters who can be so quiet, I was afraid he’d disappear from the story altogether.

That’s all for tonight. Nite, all, and stay cool!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Write the crap

  1. Vivian says:

    This is great advice. I’ve been reading all the ‘rules’ by other writers on good and bad writing until I can’t get a word down on the page. To heck with rules. Most of the books I like to read don’t follow even half of them.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Thanks, Vivian! Glad it helped. And yeah, exactly – that’s like what I’ve been getting myself to start doing: learn the rules so you know where to break them – because you can and quite successfully obviously. Still, you gotta admit: that sentence of mine needs to be changed or go. ;) In context it’s better but….

    Thanks for reading and happy writing! :)

Leave a Reply

