The Booker Award

I’m thrilled to have been nominated for the Booker Award by Kasia James at Writer’s Block. The Booker award is for book- and literary-type blogs and I’m tickled that Kasia thought of me. Check out her blog – she’s one of those rare writers who’s able to pull off an interestingly eclectic blog by virtue of a unique and captivating voice.

So here are the rules for the Booker Award:

1.  Nominate other blogs, as many as you want but 5-10 is always a good suggestion

2.  Post the Booker Award picture.

3.  Best of all, share your top 5 books of all time.

So number three is why it took me a month to write this – how do you pick your top 5 books of all time? Well I finally decided I can’t because as soon as I post this I’ll realize I forgot a super-important one and I’ll have to do a *headsmack* and all I can do is accept it. So. With that preface, here are my top 5 books of all time, in no particular order:

1. The Illustrated Man by Ray Bradbury. This story has stuck with me for years and now that I’m thinking about it, might have been one of the reasons I wanted tattoos before they were a mainstream thing to want or have. Despite the creepiness of it – I’d rather my tattoos not come to life on me, let alone tell their own stories – it’s a compelling read that I’ve just put on hold at the library as I realize it’s been far too long since I’ve read it.

2. The Hero and the Crown by Robin McKinley. For years I searched for a book I had read as a child that was so vivid, I could still hear the narrator’s voice telling the story, yet I couldn’t remember what the book was. I finally found it in The Hero and the Crown. This is a story of a girl who even though she’s the king’s daughter, she’s a huge misfit in her father’s court due in part to her mother’s origins and in part to her own unwillingness to play the court games. She’s a completely relateable character and this book as well as The Blue Swordwhich takes place in the same “universe”, are my go-to books when I need a comfort book that will tell me a good story with strong, interesting characters, and take me to a place I wish I could visit myself.

3. The Chronicles of Narnia by C.S. Lewis. I’m cheating just a little bit on this one since technically this is seven books in one, but it’s one book on my shelf and as a child, it acted as one book to me. I loved going to Narnia, whether I entered through a wardrobe, a pool, or a ship. It was a land that again, I wished I could visit with amazing creatures that lived in my dreams for years.

4. Sophie’s World by Jostein Gaarder. Sophie’s World is not a book I expected to like in part because it’s dense in both size and content. I had to read it for my Scandinavian Children’s Lit class a few years ago and if I hadn’t had to read it, I’m not sure I would have. But then I read it and found myself moved by it. I’ll cheat and say it rocked my world a little in the same way that Atlas Shrugged did (#6 of my top 5 books?). Sophie has a mystery in her real life driven by unusual letters she receives, and at the same time, finds herself in a correspondence course with an anonymous philosopher. She must use these lessons to solve her real-life mystery. It’s an intriguing book that somehow manages to cover history and philosophy without ever becoming dull.

5. My last pick is going to be another classic: Madeleine L’Engle’s Wrinkle in Time. I can’t say I ever wanted to visit Meg’s world or any of the worlds she visited. The appeal of this book to me was the chance for a plain, not entirely likeable girl to find her place and to find herself. The most important scene for me was when she gets angry at the gentle alien who’s caring for Meg as if she were her mother and when Meg literally beats on her in her anger, the creature just stands there and takes it and still loves her. You don’t often see examples of that kind of unconditional love in books and it made a big impression on me. As it did on Meg…

So there you go. I don’t suppose it’s a surprise to anyone that most of my choices are children’s/YA (young adult) books but those are the ones that impacted me, comforted me, and inspired me the most. And I think that’s probably true for a lot of people, judging by the sudden popularity of children’s lit, especially YA books.

Okay now to suggest some blogs for this award. This was a tough one but I finally narrowed it down (and again in no particular order). I’m interested to see which books they would choose.

  • Just Deb: Reading and Writing for Children and Teens – a great book blog by Deb Marshall, focusing mostly on Middle Grade and YA books written by a lovely and thoughtful person.
  • Catherine Knutsson – a blog by the author of Shadows Cast by Stars, an unusual and beautiful dystopian. In her blog, Catherine gives a little peek into her personal life. I definitely recommend both her book and her blog.
  • The Practical Free Spirit – Amy Sundberg’s blog. I love following her blog for her honest and heartfelt posts.
  • The Write Path – Dorine White is a (mostly) Middle Grade and YA book blogger who offers giveaways of many of the books she reviews.
  • Cristian Mihai – Another thoughtful blog, this one by Cristian Mihai. He writes on a wide range of art, writing, and literature subjects and has an engaging, intelligent style  that keeps me reading.

So that’s all for tonight everyone. Thanks again, Kasia. Everyone else? I would love to hear your five top books. Good luck with choosing!

Update: Argh, I knew it! What did I forget? Alice in Wonderland and Through the Looking Glass. Ah well. Glad it wasn’t top 10 books or I’d be here all year…

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Booker Award

  1. Dorine White says:

    Thank you so much for the nomination. I will get right on to choosing my top 5 books. Wow, decisions, decisions.

  2. katkasia says:

    Thank you! Glad you enjoy reading the blog, and what an interesting selection you have there. I just bought ‘The Illustrated Man’ on Friday, so now I’m looking forward to it more than ever. :)

  3. Deb Marshall says:

    I LOVE the Hero and the Crown. And the others you’ve listed. Most excellent choices. Thank for the nom…will get me to thinking on my top five. Hopefully head will not explode, har har.

  4. thewritingblues says:

    Can’t wait to see your picks, Dorine and Deb! Good luck with the head not-exploding lol. ;)

    Kasia, you’ll have to tell me what you think. :)

Leave a Reply

