Feeding your muse

If you’re like me, you focus so much on the task of writing that you forget the very necessary task of doing things that feed your creativity.

I was reminded of this today when Rachelle Gardner, an agent, posted this blog post called, “How to Become a Better Writer” with tons of suggestions for feeding your muse. (I personally like the suggestion to build something from Lego.)

My Muse

My mom gave me my Muse when she last visited. She hangs on the lamp on my desk and is a reminder of why I love to write, but she doesn’t remind me to do things to keep myself inspired. Well maybe if I make that connection now, she can do that for me in the future.

In the meantime, I’m just gonna have to remember to go have fun. Because isn’t that what getting inspired is all about? Having fun? Whether it’s sitting by the water (something I did last week),

My beach

or baking, or gardening, or building with Lego… Whatever you do to nourish your creativity, to feed your Muse, to replenish your soul, it should on some level or other, be fun for you. Otherwise it’s work and not much inspiration at all.

What’s your favorite thing to do to get inspired?

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Feeding your muse

  1. katkasia says:

    I find long train trips help – enforced time free of distractions to think!
    Also walking, and painting. Must try the lego thing though! :)

  2. Deb Marshall says:

    Sit outside under the huge trees in my yard. Walking in the mountains. Swimming or just sitting by the water. AND–I love to doodle, sketch< ask me how much of that I've done lately. Great post and reminder to take the time to feed the muse.

  3. Pingback: The Muse Tales: Why I Never Get Anything Done | WriterGurl INK.

  4. thewritingblues says:

    Oooh I love long train rides. That’s a good idea – there are a few options here that might work. I use the ferry that way too. Walking’s always a good one. I’ve gotten out of that unfortunately lately in part because I walk everywhere as my transportation method; that can kill the joy of walking for its own sake…

    I’m seeing a theme with the activities and artistic stuff; I sketch too when I’m sometimes needing to brainstorm – not much of a painter sadly but I use color pencils in my ink drawings to bring in the color.

    Thanks for responding guys and for reading! :D

  5. Pingback: Feeding the muse « Christiano Kwena

Leave a Reply

