What your character wants

Sometimes when things don’t turn out the way you expected, that can be a very, very good thing.

My weekend got abruptly turned on its head yesterday but I decided to take advantage of it and get a lot of things done that had been accumulating. Yesterday that meant chores and finally watching “Moonrise Kingdom” at my favorite movie theater. Today it meant bills and now writing.

I’m happy to say that the combination of getting out of my house and into a local coffee/cupcake shop, along with feeling slightly at peace, and spending time lately thinking about my character and my story has made me break through. I wrote 1058 words and feel like I’m finally done for the night.

But before I go, let’s talk about motivation. As in what motivates your characters? (And yes, I think they should all have motivations.) Your characters need to want something. To me, the hard thing is figuring out what they want.

I’m still trying to figure out exactly what my main character wants. I think I know but then I get derailed. So Lisa Davidson’s guest post on Darcy Pattison’s blog called “What Does Your Character Want?” might be just what I’m ready for.

It seems she was having the same problem: knowing what her character doesn’t want, instead of what she wants and needs. She said that this program – Want-ology – helped her really figure it out. 

It reminds me that I think I have something similar at home – some sheets with questions to ask your character to figure them out. Or maybe it’ll be worth it to read the free intro to the workbook that Lisa mentions. We’ll see. For tonight, I’m content with my breakthrough. And with my new surprise, furry character. That should make things interesting.

OK time to wrap up. And not steal the cupcake from the girl’s table next to me.

Nite, all!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

