Day 1 of PiBoIdMo

Mission Accomplished! I survived day one of PiBoIdMo! …. Okay it wasn’t quite as dramatic as that. Quite the opposite actually. But it feels momentous because my writing – and my creativity – have been so dried up lately.

When a friend who has two very young children heard I was doing this challenge a day or two ago she said I needed to write a book about girl empowerment. About girls who aren’t just princesses or just pretty or whatever. Seems there’s still quite a few of those going around. There’s nothing wrong with that but they don’t represent every girl and she’s frustrated.

I don’t blame her. I was a bit of a tomboy as a kid and her suggestion got me thinking about who I was as a child and next thing I knew, I saw this little girl in my head and then I started playing with the idea and with the words….

I was working in my favorite pub where a pivotal college football game was playing on the TV over the bar and suddenly realized that it was going to get way more crowded and that I was taking up one of the choice tables. I wouldn’t normally care – heck even my server tonight told me she didn’t care and could stay put – but it really was an important game and I wasn’t really watching. So I relocated to the front of the pub.

Good call.

Within minutes of settling in and going back over my new idea, two men came in with three little children, a boy toddler, and two young girls. They proceeded to take over the table next to mine and the little boy immediately came up to my table, grabbed on and tried to look over the edge at what I was doing. His father started to pry him away, saying, “Don’t bother the nice lady,” but I stopped him, telling him I was writing picture books so it fit. He laughed and they said as long as I gave him back before bedtime, he was all mine. Tempting – cute kid!

The girls were fun to listen to as they played a game similar to Apples to Apples while waiting for their food. The little boy would periodically come over to try and look at my table again, to “talk” to me, to “ask” what was in my purse, or to just lay his head down on the bench next to me, with his thumb in his mouth, facing me. I was charmed.

What more inspiration did I need?

By the time I left, I had a fully-fleshed first draft of my little girl’s story. I named her after one of the girls next to me – the kindergartner I caught peering over at me a few times, trying to see what I was doing

I’m so happy. And what a wonderful discovery to find that I haven’t lost my creativity after all; it was just waiting to be teased back to life.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 1 of PiBoIdMo

  1. Deb Marshall says:

    Yep. That was me shouting into my house…”I am so excited for you!” as I read your post, lol. There is nothing like finding that inspiration and you’ve discovered that kids are walking picture books! Congrats on your first day. Here is to an awesome day two for you…cheers!

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Thank you, Deb!! :) Yeah last night was so fun. Very good way to start off the whole challenge. Good luck to you too! :)

Leave a Reply

