Feeding the fire

It’s the night before the last day of PiBoIdMo and I just emailed myself today’s picture book idea. I emailed it to myself because I’m already lying in bed so it’s easier to type than to write. Tomorrow I’ll transcribe it into my writer’s notebook as I’ve done with all the other ideas I’ve come up with on the verge of sleep.

At the beginning of the month, I promised myself that I would do this challenge – come up with at least one new picture book idea every day in November – and overall, I’m quite satisfied at how I’ve done. I’ve missed a few days here and there when I fell asleep before I could even begin to think of an idea, but I always (or almost always) made up for it by coming up with an extra idea the day befoe or the day after.

One more day of the challenge and I’m thinking back on how important it has been to me. See, as I’ve mentioned a few times, I’ve been sick a bit lately and dealing with different medical issues so my energy levels have been going steadily downhill (I blame stress too of course). This has made me unable to have the energy to write. I’m hoping that will change soon but in the meantime, this challenge fed my need to create and imagine and, at rare times this month, write. For that I am so grateful.

I guess now my hope for you is that you remember that when life gets tough and gets in the way of your writing, there are small things you can do to feed the fire a little (me, I get cranky if I don’t do anything writing-related for too long so this is super-important). And I want you to remember that when life eases up again, you might have to go easy on yourself as you rebuild your writing habits.

Think of it as a muscle: after you’ve injured it, you need to ease yourself back into your old exercise routines lest you reinjure yourself. And sometimes you’re forced to permanently change your routine altogether. That’s ok because remember, there’s no one way to exercise. Just as there’s no one way to write. Do what works for you in that moment and remember that all effort is positive so you know, stop beating up on yourself!

That is all.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

