Working through writer’s block

So I’d figured out some of why my writing’s been blocked – too low energy to pull the words out, inability to pull together the disparate portions of my first draft, etc. – but I knew that wasn’t all of it.

I’m feeling some concern that my book won’t conform to the genre and therefore will be a hard sale. And I feel a little bit of pressure now that I’ve received positive professional feedback and interest. You can argue those types of doubts away – JUST WRITE, DAMNIT – so I know that’s not all of it either.

I realized that I’m worrying so much about the constraints and expectations of the genre that I worry my own voice is getting overwritten with what it “should” be. Again, consciously realizing that, I have a better chance of fighting it and of fighting my subconscious reluctance to write – JUST WRITE!!

So then. One last realization: I worry that my story is going to be too dark. Too dark for whom? Well too dark for me. I have a very active, though sometimes obscure, sense of humor and I worry that spending more years writing such a dark book will depress the hell out of me.

Until I realized last night that while the outline of the book may be dark, my characters aren’t. More than a little of my dryness, humor, and sarcasm are seeping into them and that’s what’ll carry this story and make it interesting to me. I want to know how they’re going to handle the crap and hell I’m throwing at them. I’m a big believer that a sense of humor can carry you through the darkest times because to me, humor is linked to hope: if it won’t be better, at least it’ll be amusing.

And now I can write. And did: I sketched out a scene on Saturday that was pulled from a dream I had and it’s the first time I’ve been seriously toying with writing in the first person.

I’m excited again.

Good luck to you on this week’s writing!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Working through writer’s block

  1. Dawn Simon says:

    I totally get your post. I didn’t believe in writer’s block for a long time–until it hit me for the first time. Keep going, as you know! You’ll come through on the other side. And congrats on the positive feedback and interest, on your new scene, and on your rediscovered joy!

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Thanks, Dawn, for the encouragement. I hope you’re not experiencing your writer’s block now! Thanks for reading :)

  3. katkasia says:

    Great to hear you’re still at it – and still inspired! Sorry I haven’t been around for a while. The bub leaves me very little time!

  4. Pingback: Art dirtied by the mighty dollar | Writer's Block

Leave a Reply

