Your underlying theme

Hi everyone –

I’m still trying to get back on track both with my writing and my blog so until I can, I thought I’d start bringing you interesting writing articles and blogs.

Today I’m bringing you Molly Blaisdell’s Seize the Day blog and her article on theme. I’ve heard that even while you may not intend it, what you’re dealing with or what you believe – or both – seeps into your writing, and you end up writing on a theme. For some, it’s the love between siblings. Or overcoming difficult odds. As Molly writes, “I have found that everything you write is connected. Every writer is digging into some universal ideas or messages that are directly connected to her experience.”

I’m not sure what my theme is yet – hard to have a theme when you can’t write – but I know what’s come up in my writing in the past, and I’ll be interested to see if that comes up again and becomes my theme. Maybe I’ll have to try Molly’s exercise to try and figure it out ahead of time. And maybe it’ll help strengthen my writing to know what I’m about.

Nite all.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

