BEAN DOG & NUGGET: Charise Mericle Harper Cooks Up Another Great Book Idea (plus three giveaways!)

I absolutely loved this post. It was a great story of where one book’s idea came from – and how absolutely random and fun the process can be. Enjoy!

Writing for Kids (While Raising Them)

by Charise Mericle Harper

charisemericleharperThe other day I was at my son’s book fair, talking with his teacher. A few of my books were included in the event, and she picked one up and flipped through it. All of a sudden she asked, “Where do you get your ideas?” I’m pretty good at answering this question at school talks, but on the spot, I was speechless. I ended up smiling uncomfortably, shrugging my shoulders and saying, “I don’t know,” and then I quickly changed the subject.

On stage and in front of a group, I’m fine with the spotlight, but in a social situation, the last thing I’m comfortable talking about is me. Later that day, I started feeling guilty about how I’d responded. I should have made more of an effort to answer her, because her question was a good one. In fact, it was the exact same…

View original post 996 more words

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

