The Emerald Ring

The-Emerald-Ring-blog-tour

I am very excited to announce the release (3 days ago) of Dorine White’s new book, The Emerald Ring. I’m even more excited that I already got to read it because I gotta tell you, I loved it. It’s interesting, with modern, strong young characters, both girls and boys and I think it will appeal to readers of both genders. 

From Dorine’s website:

emerald-ring-cover-finalTwelve year old Sara Guadalupe Bogus spends the last few days of summer anticipating middle school and helping her Grandma Dora around the house. Her ordinary life turns upside down when she discovers an emerald ring once belonging to Cleopatra. Touching the ring sends a lightening like zap through her system, while putting the ring upon her finger causes it to stick like glue.

Now strange things are happening to Sara. She has troubling visions, can understand animals and learns to transform herself into an Egyptain cat. However, the worst thing is the strange man that shows up in town. He is hunting for the emerald ring, and will not stop until he acquires it. With the ring stuck on her finger, Sara has no choice. She can be hunted, or become the hunter.

Fast-paced, this book kept me turning pages until the end. As I told Dorine, I devoured it. There were some funny moments that had me chuckling, especially as Sara starts to realize she can understand animals. As a bonus, Dorine manages to weave in a healthy dose of interesting Egyptian history through the story without making you feel like you’re – horrors! – learning. Sara is spunky and her friends have the right balance and Kainu in particular is interesting in his own right. Sara loves her mother dearly and the challenges she faces with her are heartfelt and I feel will resonate with many of Dorine’s young readers who, even if they aren’t experiencing this exact relationship, will still recognize it and empathize with it.

I would recommend this book to anyone age 8 and over and to any reader who loves adventure, magic, mysteries, history, Egypt, cats… Well any reader really: it’s a fun book!

You can get The Emerald Ring (ISBN-13: 978-1462111336), here at Amazon or at Barnes and Noble.

Dorine WhiteLearn more about Dorine and what she’s doing next (the next book in this series – hooray!) at Dorine’s website or at her Facebook page or follow her on her twitter account, DorineWhite.

I initially found Dorine a year or so ago on her blog, The Write Path. I highly recommend it for anyone interested in what’s new in children’s books for all ages.

Alright! Let’s get reading, folks. Judging from my holds list at the library and on my Kindle, that’s about all I’ll be doing this weekend – hooray!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Emerald Ring

  1. Dorine White says:

    Thank you so much for being part of my blog tour :)

  2. thewritingblues says:

    I was happy to be a part of it. Congratulations again! :)

Leave a Reply

