Other people’s progress

It’s almost midnight and I’m getting ready to go to sleep before a fun day tomorrow but I thought I’d touch in here first.

Despite the fact that my writing has been nearly non-existent lately, it’s still with me in the back of my head and so I still enjoy hearing about other people’s writing. On FB or on twitter, I get to read posts about how someone has written 6,000 words that day (wow – how?! and you go, girl!) or how someone is sitting down to write with their morning coffee… A lot of those who regularly post about writing – well maybe all or nearly all of them – write full-time; meaning they don’t have other jobs to suck their brain and energy away from their creative efforts. Having said that, a lot of people are able to write after a full day’s work, or on the weekends. I used to be one of those and I hope one day soon, when things settle down in my personal life, to be one of those again.

I also get to hear – and these are usually not public posts – how someone’s writing isn’t going well. Which sucks but I totally know how that goes. And I remind them what I’ve learned: sometimes it goes in waves – when you have a lot going on in your life, sometimes you just can’t write, or can’t write much. And that’s okay. There’s time. Just keep trying to get back to it. As I am. And KEEP WRITING no matter how much you think what you just wrote that morning sucks. Just keep moving forward. Or as Dory said, “Just keep swimming….” Yes, she is one of my personal heroes.

Alright enough of that. I’m off to bed with my new (adopted 3 weeks ago) cat friend. Her name is Mrs. Olivia Whatsit, or Olive, for short, and if you get both references in her name, you win…. well nothing, but Bravo! Here’s her picture for those of you who love cute animal pix. Nite all, and happy writing!

Olive

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

