New Year

So here we are in a new year. I don’t know about you, but mine has already brought some interesting changes: my job has ended and I finished a class that allowed me to become proficient in HTML and CSS – the first step in creating my own website. And now, while I’m waiting for my next job opportunity to find me, I’m taking on other challenges – and coming back to myself in the process.

Thanks to a book called The Renaissance Soul by Margaret Lobenstine and thanks to coaching from her, I’ve been able to narrow down my many interests, goals, and passions into five that I want to pursue right now. Five exciting, interesting, and soul-filling passions.

Of those, one is to become more consistent in my blogging, both here and in my other blog, and another is to get back to my writing: to finish a picture book I started, revise another, and start yet a third that’s been nibbling at the edges of my mind for two years now. And then of course, to finish my novel and get it into interested hands.

No one ever said I was an underachiever.

On the picture book topic – I wasn’t able to participate in PiBoIdMo this past November as I did last year, but I’m intrigued by the 12 x 12 challenge created by Julie Hedlund – writing 12 picture books in 12 months. I’m not sure but maybe….

Do you have any writing goals for 2014? I’d love to hear them. In the meantime, enjoy writing, or revising your NaNoWriMo novel, or coming up with your next picture books. Do it all!

Happy New Year, everyone!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

