Coffee shop worldbuilding

I’m in a coffee shop a neighborhood away from home playing with the landscape of my novel.

I recently realized that for my novel to have the impact it needs, to be interesting, I need to back it up a few hundred years. I need to show how great everything was before it all went to hell.

To do that, I needed to see how beautiful it used to be but I realized that I wasn’t seeing it. What I was seeing was the stereotype of every beautiful, shining city ever envisioned. And I realized… well my perfect city would look very different.

Hence the playing.

I’m not great at sketching landscapes, but as long as I can sketch it well enough that I can feel that I captured it for myself… well who cares about skill?

It’s working – what I’ve started drafting is interesting and fun. And ok maybe it has shades of Buck Rogers in there but who can blame me? Only wish I’d brought my color pencils to really bring it to life.

Tomorrow….

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Coffee shop worldbuilding

  1. As a coffeshop writer myself, I’ve been there so many times! It is hard to figure out the landscapes, but it is so fun when it works out. This is so inspiring to me as a literary blogger. Keep writing!

  2. thewritingblues says:

    I’m definitely finding that writing in coffee shops works better for me a lot of times: don’t have to look over my sketch book or computer screen at dust or paper piles to organize…

    Yes, yes! It’s difficult but so exciting when it all gels.

    Thanks for reading and good luck on your writing!

Leave a Reply

