Clearing the decks

I saw a writing coach yesterday, one I worked with two years ago. She was just as helpful now as she was then. Thanks to talking it out with her, I finally have the missing part of my story. With it, I’m ready to do another loose outline and start writing my book over. That’s right: from the beginning. Will it be difficult? Yes. Will it be fun? Hell yes!

But I struggle with just sitting down and writing. I told her that I realized that part of the problem at home is that I always have stuff on my desk – stuff to sort, stuff to do… Stuff! – and there’s nothing more stifling to creativity than sitting down to a messy desk. I was so good at clearing my desk off at work before I left for the day so that I could come in to a fresh start. So why couldn’t I do that here at home?

Well I can. I just needed to move everything off and make that resolution to myself: that everything needs to be put away at the end of the day. If there’s something I have to work on the next day, it can go to the side in a designated space, or on a post-it note, but otherwise it’s off the desk. This includes stuff that I don’t consciously see anymore, like pens and remotes. Everything goes.

So far so good.

The other thing my writing coach ferreted out for me was a theme. I didn’t realize that what my character is looking for, what she really needs is… Well never mind that – no spoilers! What’s fantastic, especially for someone who believes in synchronicities, is that the answer I came up with tonight to a completely unrelated writing prompt fits perfectly with this newly discovered theme. Don’t you just love when that happens?

So now I’m ready to dig in, and start telling my story again. I’m psyched. Hope you’re having similarly inspiring progress. Until next time!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Clearing the decks

  1. Good luck with it! Curiously I find a tidy desk helps me too.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Thanks! I’m hopeful it’ll help, long-term and short-term. Good writing to you!

Leave a Reply

