Writing in pieces

I started a new job last week. This a good thing. A very, very good thing, and not just because “Yay, I got a job!” but because I really love it. It’s fun and challenging; in fact, one of the good parts of my ADHD has been kicking in – my ability to hyper-focus. That ability really only kicks in when I’m thoroughly interested and completely absorbed. How fantastic to have found that in a job!

The flip side to this is keeping balanced with refreshing and rejuvenating times. And to keep writing whenever I can. (And to make sure “whenever I can” means “Do it! Do it now!”)

Oddly I was better at that last week: wrote on most of my lunch breaks and in tiny stolen moments running around. (On a related note: there are some fantastic apps out there for writing on your phone. Then you can just mail yourself the RTF file, put it in your Dropbox, etc., or simply cut and paste your work into an email to be added to your growing manuscript later – in my case, to Scrivener.) My total word count for last week was just over 1,000 words. Modest for some, a huge accomplishment for someone writing in-between life’s cracks. I was satisfied.

I mean think about that: 1,000+ words written in 10-, 15, and 30-minute bites. Even if that’s all I can do each week, in a year I’ll have over 52,000 words.

In a year… I’m trying to be all positive and motivational here but yikes. A part of me is saying to myself, it’d better not take me a year to write 52K words!

Hmmm…

On that note, I’d better leave you and get going.

Happy writing and remember – get your words down however you can, whenever you can. It adds up!

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

