Writing Funny

While making myself a late brunch yesterday, I listened to a Sunday afternoon KUOW program – the Vinyl Cafe. During the last third of the program was a piece called ‘Stephanie’s Exam’ and it was juice-up-your-nose hysterical! (Listen here if you don’t believe me; scroll forward to about 25:40 in the program to get to it.) I listened and I laughed, and I tried not to burn my pancakes. (Again.) And I was amazed – here was a story that was not only outstandingly funny, but also put me directly into the main character’s experience; right at the heart of it. Which surprised me. I mean yes the reader helped – he gave just the right emphasis to set off the one-word high notes, but it was more than that. It was the writing. I’m funny – outloud, but often unintentionally. It’s never occurred to me to write humorous pieces. Now I’m intrigued.

Embed from Getty Images

So I googled. (I am the Google Queen after all. And the Sarcasm Queen but that’s another story…) I googled and found this: ‘My Four Commandments to Writing Funny‘ by Paul Angone. I couldn’t latch onto the funny similes/metaphors rule because that’s where my humor fails me: funny one-liners, intentional puns (although I do plenty of unintentional ones…), similes, metaphors, and funny titles. Can’t do it but this resonated: ‘Tapping into shared experiences is important when writing, but even more so when writing humor. Because you’ll always get a bigger laugh when people are thinking, gosh that’s so freaking true.’ THAT I understand. So. Off to try a new type of writing. Or maybe just to insert a little more humor into my protag’s internal dialogue. Let me know how your funny writing goes! Nite all, and good writing.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing Funny

  1. connerj09 says:

    This was actually pretty helpful coming from someone who as of today is trying his luck too. I don’t know though. I’m more lost than a.. person.. who’s.. lost..?

    …Yeah, see, I need some work.. :)

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Glad it helped! And lol – yeah that’s how I felt when I tried doing the example in the article. I got nothing. ;) Good luck to you and thanks for reading!

  3. connerj09 says:

    Thanks! And of course! Do you mind checking my first couple posts out? :)

  4. thewritingblues says:

    Of course! (And sorry for the delay–I replied to this a few days ago but I just saw that my reply wasn’t saved!)

Leave a Reply

