The Mountain in Your Way

I was just having an email conversation with a writer friend about the mountains blocking our writing time. For me, this week, my mountain was a severe back injury that left me barely able to walk, and only with my walking stick. The only reason I didn’t end up in the ER was sheer stubbornness and even that wavered.

Now, after three days of ripping pain, heavy meds with bad side effects, and tons of sleep thanks to said meds, I’m finally feeling some relief and am also starting to keep food down (for now; *crosses fingers*).  Needless to say, one of the side effects of the meds is brain fogginess so not a whole lot is getting done right now, including writing. And that’s okay. I was writing before the injury, and I’ll write after.

We all have our mountains. Some take years to climb, some days. And some you’ll find you don’t need to climb at all, but can take the longer, easier walk around.

With some mountains, you’ll find yourself fortunate enough to have someone walking the mountain with you; others you’ll walk alone but with the emotional support of people who love you but can’t be there with you in-person; and some, you’ll find yourself walking up completely alone.

The point is, no matter what kind of mountain you’re facing, or whether you have company or not, don’t lose focus. Don’t let yourself be discouraged by the obstacles that seem to come out of nowhere and pile up. My mother used to say to us, “This too shall pass.” I really hated when she said it, but now… now I see the wisdom and the comfort in it. Because it’s true.

So. I created this so you will always remember that no matter what type of mountain you’re facing…

20141214 Gandalf shall pass meme

Know that you’ll be writing again soon. I know I will be. In fact, I’m looking forward to a breakthrough similar to the one I had just before I had my injury: I thought I was headed for bed but suddenly saw a really cool detail about my world that fit right where I’d been writing so… out came my notebook and down went my head! It turned into one of my more exciting writing sessions. And I know I’ll have more. So will you.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Mountain in Your Way

  1. So true!
    Hope you are feeling well.

  2. thewritingblues says:

    I am, thank you so much! And thanks for reading. :)

Leave a Reply

