Be Brave!

20150120 Brave say meme

Have you heard Sara Bareilles’ song, “Brave”? Like a lot of her songs, I find her lyrics refreshing and straight-forward. This one though has been haunting me — in a good way, unless I play it one too many times and then it’s *hulk smash* the computer. But I digress…

In this song, Sara sings about being brave in your speaking — not to let fear of others’ response or criticism shut you up. And it’s a very, very good message, and a lesson I’m still working through. (Sometimes it’s easier not to say or share something than to face people’s criticism, disapproval, or laughter but take the harder path; it’s worth it.)

I think her lyrics also apply to us writers, and artists too.

[…] I wonder what would happen if you
Say what you wanna say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave
With what you want to say
And let the words fall out
Honestly I wanna see you be brave […]

Sometimes we get so choked up inside because of what we think people are expecting us to write (or paint or draw or…) that either we can’t create at all or we stifle it and don’t say exactly what we wanted to. And I’m not just talking about memoirs here. Fiction too requires an openness of the soul to really reach readers — to authentically translate and transmit the human experience. It’s more than “writing what you know;” it’s digging deep and writing what you feel too. And it’s not always going to be pretty, but you gotta do it.

It’s about putting all the voices aside and just writing whatever you want, damnit. This is also something I’ve struggled with, as I’ve written before: silencing the voices of the interested agents, the interested friends, the voices of the industry, your own voice saying what you SHOULD BE WRITING… By listening to them, you can lose your true voice.

So I’m telling you: be brave. Write what you want to write. Honestly, I wanna see you be brave with what you want to say… I do. Because when you’re brave, it helps me to be brave too. And maybe my bravery will help someone else down the line.

Who’s the bravest writer (or artist) you can think of?

Lyrics courtesy of Musixmatch
About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Be Brave!

  1. Hey Mara! Love your post. I think the bravest writer or artist is the one who’s doing EXACTLY WHAT YOU ARE DOING!!

    Continue to be brave, my friend. :-)

  2. thewritingblues says:

    Thank you, thank you, Ilana!! That means a lot. :-)

Leave a Reply

