Am I a Fraud?

Maya Angelou

I love that Maya Angelou said this. It’s incredibly comforting.

See, I have a confession to make: I’m a fraud. Or at least I feel like one. And it seems I’m not alone.

My local SCBWI conference was two weekends ago and as always, it was wonderful. I learned a lot, read, spent time with friends old and new, and wroteMost of the time, I felt like I belonged with these wonderful people who love writing (or illustrating) for children, and the resulting children’s books as much as I do. But every now and then, a small voice would pipe up: “You really don’t belong, you know. When have you been published? How much have you written or edited this month, let alone this year? And even then, you aren’t anywhere as talented or skilled as these guys…” And so on.

I am a writer.

I finally started Julia Cameron’s Morning Pages a month and a half ago. I haven’t been doing it first thing–can’t manage that just yet–but I do hand write three 8.5″x11″ pages every day with few exceptions (the only day I skipped was when I was too sick to function). Most days, that’s my only writing, and I’m okay with that.

I am a writer.

A month or so before the conference, an agent indicated she wanted to see one of my picture book manuscripts, so I pulled it out from where I’d stored it 6 months before. I’d thought it was done but time showed me the flaws (as it always will!) and I got back to work. Several drafts later, I sent it to an editorial consultant for her input. She loved it and had great feedback on how to improve it. Now I’m working on incorporating her input and working out the kinks.

I am a writer.

Another one of my picture book manuscripts was well-received during the round table critique sessions at the conference (and that’s all I’m saying there!) and again I came out with great feedback on how to strengthen it.

I am a writer.

I’m impatient to finish those two picture books because I have more ideas knocking on my brain, including one that is very dear to my heart.

I am a writer.

I am a fraud who pretends to be a writer.

No, I am a writer. I am a writer of children’s stories, a teller of tales, a storyteller. The only fraud is the voice that tells me otherwise.

About thewritingblues

I'm a writer working on a YA dystopian novel and blogging on my progress - or lack thereof - and other cool writing stuff.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

